(480) 630-0212

Se Habla Español

ACFS2000 Blog

Support the Family Act Tax Credit to Offset the Costs of IVF Treatments

Dear Fertility Advocates,

Currently there is a bill in the Senate called The Family Act (S 965) and since April 25th a new bill has been introduced in the House that meets all of RESOLVE’s priorities, which includes the Adoption Credit and the Family Act. The Family Act is a tax credit that would help offset the cost of IVF treatments for individuals diagnosed with infertility by a Reproductive Endocrinologist.

There was a lot of representation from the bordering states, such as Virginia, New Jersey and New York. Unfortunately, there was the only one representative from Arizona. As such, we need more voices from Arizona to reach out to our legislators. Below is a list of Senators and Representatives along with the person to be contact and their email addresses. In addition, below is some sample text you can use in an email to these individuals.

Thank you for your time and effort to help your current and future patients,

Senator Jon Kyl – contact Karin Hope at Karin_hope@Kyl.Senate.gov and Judith Gheuens at Judith_Gheuens@Kyl.Senate.gov

Congressman David Schweikert – contact Cassiopeia Son, Legislative Counsel at Cassi.sonn@mail.house.gov

Congressman Ben Quayle – contact Rachel Dresen, Legislative Director at Rachel.Dresen@mail.house.gov

The Honorable Ed Pastor – contact Laurie Ellington, Legislative Assistant at Laurie.Ellington@mail.house.gov

Congressman Paul Gosar – contact Sr. Legislative Assistant at Kelly.Ferguson@mail.house.gov

Representative Trent Franks – contact Bobby Cornett at Bobby.Cornett@mail.house.gov

Congressman Raul Grijalva – contact Kelsey Mishkin, Legislative Assistant at Kelsey.Mishkin@mail.house.gov

Sample letter:

Dear Senator/Representative,

Add some information about yourself – your credentials are very important – and why you are contacting them about the Family Act and Adoption Tax Credit…
The disease of infertility affects 7.3 million Americans (1 in 8 couples), medical treatment for infertility is very successful. More than 80% of patients who have access to initial treatments, such as medication or surgery, successfully conceive. However, most Americans do not have insurance coverage for the medical treatment of infertility. The out-of-pocket cost of diagnosis and treatment prevents many people from having access to this care.

The federal tax credit provided by The Family Act (S 965) would help many people who are affected by infertility to build their family; much like the federal Adoption Tax Credit has for many years.

I hope I can count on your support to co-sponsor The Family Act (S 965) as well as the extension of the Adoption Tax Credit (H.R. 4373).

Should you have any questions or need additional information, please contact Dr. Nemiro or feel free to contact Barbara Collura, Executive Director of RESOLVE, at bcollura@resolve.org. You may also visit the RESOLVE website at www.resolve.org.

Visit us at www.acfs2000 for more information about this important piece of legislation

Bookmark and Share
  • Email
Posted in IVF - In Vitro Fertilization